Author Topic: SpriteEditor  (Read 4365 times)

johnno56

SpriteEditor
« on: November 15, 2014 »
No... Not another one...

This is my first attempt using N6. There isn't much to show at the moment. I have basically created a variable grid. From 16x16 to 64x64. The next phase is to work out how to transfer colour from the sampler to the grid. I will also attempt an update area to display the sprite in real time. The next phase, hopefully, will include some basic file control buttons. I don't have a clue on where to start, when is comes to basic drawing buttons. The coding, not the actual buttons...

I am flying by the seat of my pants with this one. Searching through the N6 example for clues as to what to do next. My code is sloppy at best but it seems to be working.

I would appreciate ANY feedback. Good or bad. Maybe, when it is finished, someone else can "polish it up" and perhaps integrate it into the Raycaster or Tile Map Editor?

John

• View Profile
Re: SpriteEditor
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2014 »
Reminds me of the sprite/bob editor in Amiga AMOS :) I think this can be very useful, because GIMP isnt' that fun to work with when it comes to pixel art.

I wrote some simple button routines for my jigsaw game. You can have a look at the below code and use it if you want to. Call 'NewButton(label$, x, y)' to create a new button at some position. There are some helper functions to put buttons next to eachother, but you can stick to simple x and y coordinates.

Code: [Select]
rem Button stuff.

visible:
rem Button data.
buttons?[]
buttonCol[][] = [[0xa0a0a0, 0xffffff, 0x0, 0x0], [0xa0a0a0, 0xffffff, 0x0, 0xffffff], [0x808080, 0x0, 0xffffff, 0x0]]
buttonCount
buttonFont

hidden:

set redraw off

easyButton = NewButton("Load easy puzzle", 4, 400)
hardButton = NewButton("Load hard puzzle", RightOfButton(easyButton) + 4, ButtonY(easyButton))
scrambleButton = NewButton("Scramble", RightOfButton(hardButton) + 4, ButtonY(easyButton))